Connect & Play

YANKOBGËK MINË DNEKMËGZÉK (Connect & Play) 

The Education, Environmental, Tribal Historic Preservation and Language & Culture Departments are offering an incentive program during this period to help keep GLT Citizens, household members, other Tribal members and staff engaged and social. During this time, virtual outreach will be made available from a variety of different media.

We recognize that with the majority of people being at home, people are more inclined to participate in activities together, so incentives will be totaled by household contributions. Households are limited to 5 participants, if you do not have a large household please feel free to form your own “household”.


CONNECT & PLAY TEACHING VIDEOS

April 27, 2020 Night Ceremonies Teaching 

May 4, 2020 Water Teaching

May 18, 2020 Mno Mijem Food Sovereignty Teaching 

May 26, 2020 Tribal History Teaching

June 2, 2020 Indigenized Gardening

June 8, 2020 Pandemic Homeschooling 

June 15, 2020 Nature as Relatives

July 7, 2020 Returning to our Roots

July 13, 2020 Indigenous Land Based Skills & Art

July 20, 2020 Pottawatomi Families' Connections to the Kalamazoo River

July 22, 2020 Archivist in a Backpack 

July 27, 2020 Anishinabe Skills in a "Zombie Apocalypse" (Survival Skills)

August 3, 2020 Neshnabe Clans and Teachings from the Gun Lake Tribe

August 10, 2020 Songs and Singing: Powwow and Beyond

August 17, 2020 Relationships with Mnomen

August 23, 2020 Celebrating GLT Recognition Day: Our People and Our Sovereign Rights

September 28, 2020 Magwésiyëk and Protectors of the Forests

October 5, 2020 Wisnëwen I Mshkëkë Awen: Sustaining Anishinaabek Culture Through Seed Saving and Traditional Food Preservation


CONNECT & PLAY POINT OPPORTUNITIES

Click the weeks below for links to Connect & Play Point Earning Opportunities. 

Session One: April 19 - May 30 (Closed)

Sunday, April 19 - Saturday, April 25

Sunday, April 26 - Saturday, May 2

Sunday, May 3 - Saturday, May 9 

Sunday, May 10 - Saturday, May 16 

Sunday, May 17 - Saturday, May 23

Sunday, May 24 - Saturday, May 30

Session Two: May 31 - July 11 (Closed)

Sunday, May 31 - Saturday, June 6

Sunday, June 7 - Saturday, June 13

Sunday, June 14 - Saturday, June 20

Sunday, June 21 - Saturday, June 27

Sunday, June 28 - Saturday, July 4

Sunday, July 5 - Saturday, July 11

Session Three: July 12 - August 29 (Closed)

Sunday, July 12 - Saturday, July 18

Sunday, July 19 - Saturday, July 25

Sunday, July 26 - Saturday, August 1

Sunday, August 2 - Saturday, August 8

Sunday, August 9 - Saturday, August 15 

Sunday, August 16 - Saturday, August 22

Sunday, August 23 - Saturday, August 29

Session Four: September 27 - November 21

Sunday, September 27 - Saturday, October 3

Sunday, October 4 - Saturday, October 10

Sunday, October 11 - Saturday, October 17

Please note, there are additional point earning opportunities on the Gun Lake Tribe's Youth Facebook Page. If you have Tribal Youth, request access here


CONNECT & PLAY DETAILS

Who Can Participate: Gun Lake Tribal Citizens and Households, Other Tribal Citizens, Gun Lake Staff and Households

Earning Points: Participate in and complete GLT Connect & Play activities

  • Commenting on qualifying Facebook and Instagram Posts
  • Participating in qualifying Zoom interactions
    • Invitations with the zoom meeting link will be sent the day of the event

Households can be made of a maximum of five participants

  • If you do not have a large household, please feel free to form your own “household”
  • E-mail your household group and team name to gltconnect@glt-nsn.gov with every household member's Facebook, Instagram and Zoom names (in case you have crazy fun names!).Team names and points will be posted to Facebook.
  • If members in your household (i.e. children) do not have a social media account, a member (i.e. parent) with an account can post their answer stating the individual's name and answer
    • Example: John Doe - Child 1 says "x", Child 2 says "x"

Each week an email will be sent with the week’s opportunities for points and the social media platform where they can be found. Household points will be communicated weekly via email.

Winners will be announced the week following the session close! 

Tier 1: Top Contributing Household

Household earn one gift (see options below)

  • Meal Delivery Kit
  • Multi Game Table
  • Telescope
  • Toddler Climb and Swing Set
  • Noc Bay Trading Company Gift Card
  • Sponsor a Dance Special of Your Choice at the 2021 Wishkpemishkos Gizes (Sweetgrass Moon Powwow)

Tier 2: Next Two Contributing Households

Each household earn one gift (see options below)

  • Meal Delivery Kit
  • Dartboard Cabinet Set
  • Bird Watching Kit
  • Children’s Play Tent
  • Tanned Hide with Moccasin-Making Instructions
  • Sponsor a Dance Special of Your Choice at the 2021 Wishkpemishkos Gizes (Sweetgrass Moon Powwow)

Tier 3: Next Three Contributing Households

Each household earn one gift (see options below)

  • Edible Arrangement or Fruit Basket
  • Disc Golf Set
  • Spike Ball
  • Train/Play Table
  • Native Board Game Bundle
  • Sponsor a Dance Special of Your Choice at the 2021 Wishkpemishkos Gizes (Sweetgrass Moon Powwow)